Compliance cycle

Industrial installations and aircraft operators covered by the EU-ETS are required to have an approved monitoring plan, according to which they monitor and report their emissions during the year X. In the case of industrial installations, the monitoring plan forms part of the approved permit (also required). These permits are handed out by the Belgian competent authorities (the regions).

The operators (of industrial installations and the aircraft operators) must designate an independant verifier from the list of verifiers accredited by the competent authorities. Before the end of February each year, the operators must report their emissions of the previous year and must have this verified by their verifier. The verified emissions are then passed to the competent authorities, which verify them in turn. Afterwards, they send the list to the Belgian registry administrator, who will upload them into the registry. Normally, the result is validated once more by the competent authorities and afterwards the figures are validated in the registry by the registry administrator by March 31 of year X+1. Only after this last validation, the emission figures are binding for surrendering.

On April 30 of year X+1 at the latest, the operators must surrender an amount of allowances in order to compensate for the emissions of year X. If this surrendering obligation is not fulfilled in time, operators face a huge fine of € 100 per allowance that was not surrendered, moreover this fine does not lift the obligation to surrender the missing allowances.

This annual procedure of monitoring, reporting and verification (MRV), as well as all processes connected to these activities, is known as the 'compliance cycle' of the EU-ETS.

The compliance cycle

Cycle de conformitÉ

Les installations industrielles et les opérateurs d'aéronefs couverts par le EU-ETS doivent avoir un plan de monitoring approuvé, reprenant les mesures pour vérifier et rapporter leurs émissions durant l'année X. Dans le cas des installations industrielles, le plan de monitoring est intégré dans le permis obligatoire. Ces permis sont délivrés par les autorités compétentes (les Régions).

Les exploitants doivent choisir un vérificateur indépendant parmi la liste des vérificateurs accrédités approuvée par l'autorité compétente. Chaque année, avant la fin février, les exploitants d'installations et d'aéronefs doivent rapporter leurs émissions de l'année précédente et les faire vérifier par leur vérificateur. Les emissions vérifiées sont enfin fournies à l'autorité compétente, qui les vérifie à son tour. L'autorité compétente fournit la liste des émissions vérifiées à l'administrateur du registre belge, qui les introduit dans le registre. Le résultat est revalidé par l'autorité compétente avant que l'administrateur du registre ne valide les émissions vérifiées dans le registre et ce, au plus tard le 31 mars de l'année suivante. Ce n'est qu'à partir de ce moment-là que les émissions vérifiées deviennent contraignantes pour la restitution.

Au plus tard le 30 avril de l'année X+1, les opérateurs doivent restituer un nombre équivalent de quotas afin de couvrir les émissions de l'année X. Si la restitution n'est pas effectuée dans ce délai, les exploitants risquent une forte amende de 100 € par tonne non-restitué. Cet amende ne libère pas de l'obligation de toujours restituer les quotas manquants.

Cette procédure annuelle de monitoring, rapportage et vérification (MRV), ainsi que les processus annexes à cet activité, est nommé le Cycle de conformité de l'EU-ETS.

Le cycle de conformité