Validation of required documentation

In general: documents that have been issued outside Belgium must be certified, authenticated with an Apostille, or legalised and they must be translated if they are not composed in English, Dutch, French or German.

Summary table

Documents issued outside Belgium must be...When?How?
CertifiedOnly for specific countries that concluded a convention with Belgium to simplify the authentication with an Apostille or legalisation.A good quality colour copy needs to be certified by a public notary. In case certification by a public notary is not allowed, it needs to be done by the municipality.
Authenticated with an ApostilleFor countries participating in the "The Hague Apostille Convention".By the empowered local foreign authority (see further).
LegalisedFor all other countries.Firstly by the empowered local foreign authority, and afterwards by the Belgian Embassy or Consulate (see further).

    1. Belgium has signed a convention with a number of (European) countries concerning the abolishing of the legalisation of documents in the member states of the European Communities:
      • Denmark (without the Faroe Islands and Greenland)
      • Estonia
      • France
      • Germany
      • Ireland
      • Italy
      • Latvia
      A good quality colour copy of the required documents certified by a public notary is sufficient for the countries listed above. If certification by a public notary is not allowed, it needs to be done by the municipality.

    2. Moreover, Belgium has signed bilateral agreements with a number of other (European) countries concerning the abolishing of the legalisation of documents of the civil status (like identity documents, proof of residence,...):
      • Luxemburg
      • The Netherlands
      • The United Kingdom
      • Switzerland

      A good quality colour copy of the identity document, proof of residence,... certified by a public notary is sufficient for the countries listed above.

      Please contact the registry helpdesk for the legalisation/certification of company statutes; there is nonetheless no uniform approach for these, the approach can vary from country to country!
    Certification: non-exhaustive list of countries

    • Denmark
    • Estonia
    • France
    • Germany
    • Ireland
    • Italy
    • Latvia
    • Luxemburg*
    • Switzerland*
    • The Netherlands*
    • The United Kingdom*

    * Also see section 2 above

  • In case you submit a copy of a document issued in a country that signed the “The Hague Convention” (with exception of the countries mentioned in the section above), this document needs to be authenticated with an Apostille.

    The Apostille needs to be attached to the document by the empowered local authority of the country that issued the document. Please consult the website of the “The Hague Convention” to find the respective local authority per country: http://www.hcch.net/index_en.php?act=conventions.status&cid=41

    More information on the authentication with an Apostille can be found at: http://diplomatie.belgium.be/en/services/legalisation_of_documents/faq/

    Apostille: non-exhaustive list of countries
    • Israel
    • Spain
    • Ukraine
    • United States of America
  • In case you submit a copy of a document issued in a country that did not sign the “The Hague Convention”, this copy needs to be legalised in the country of; this legalisation than confirms the origin of the document. This is the certification by an official authority of the authenticity of the signature, the capacity in which the signer handled and, if applicable, the identity of the seal or the stamp on the document.

    This legalisation must be done at last by the Belgian Embassy or the Belgian Consulate in that country.

    This foreign document, legalised by a Belgian Embassy or a Belgian Consulate by a sticker provided with a check digit of at least 16 digits, is valid and can hence be used in Belgium.

    Legalisation: non-exhaustive list of countries
    • Egypt
    • People’s Republic of China
    • Saudi Arabia
    • Signapore
Only original criminal records will be accepted (no copies)!
In case you submit a document composed in another language than Dutch, French, German or English, it needs to be accompanied by a certified translation in one of the previously cited languages.

Some usefull links

Further information (FYI)

  • Consult the website of the Federal Public Service Foreign Affairs for more information on the legalisation of Belgian documents: http://diplomatie.belgium.be/en/services/legalisation_of_documents/faq/.

  • In Belgium the certified translation needs to be done by a sworn translator. The signature of the sworn translator needs to be legalised afterwards by the President of the Court of First Instance the translator is associated with.

    The signature of the President of the court should than be legalised by the Federal Public Service of Justice. Only afterwards the translation and the original document can be handed over to the Federal Public Service Foreign Affairs in order to be authenticated with an Apostille or to be legalised.

Validation de la documentation

En général: Les documents émis à l’étranger doivent être soit certifiés, soit pourvus d’une apostille, soit légalisés. Ils doivent également être traduits si ils n'étaient pas rédigés en Français, Néerlandais, Allemand ou Anglais.

Sommaire

Les documents étrangers doivent être...Dans quel cas?De quelle manière?
CertifiésPour les pays ayant signé avec la Belgique une convention particulière relative à la suppression de l’apostille/ de la légalisation.Une copie couleur de bonne qualité du document doit être certifiée par le notaire. Si la certification ne peut avoir lieu par le notaire, celle-ci devra être effectuée par la maison communale.
Pourvus d’une apostille Pour les pays ayant signé la "Convention de La Haye".Par l’autorité locale compétente de votre pays (voir ci-après).
LégalisésSi l’apostille n’est pas possible.D’abord par l’autorité compétente dans votre pays, ensuite par l’ambassade ou le consulat belge (voir ci-après).

La date de certification, d'apostille ou de légalisation ne peut pas être antérieure de plus de trois mois à la date d'utilisation de la copie.

 

    1. La Belgique a conclu avec les pays suivants une convention relative à la suppression de la légalisation d’actes dans les Etats membres de la Communauté européenne : Allemagne, Danemark (sauf Groenland et Feroe), Estonie, France, Irlande, Italie et Lettonie.

      Pour ces pays, une copie couleur de bonne qualité certifiée par le notaire est suffisante. Si la certification ne peut avoir lieu via le notaire, celle-ci devra être effectuée par la maison communale.

    2. De plus, la Belgique a conclu avec certains pays (européens) des conventions bilatérales relatives à la suppression de la légalisation des actes d’état civil (par exemple, les documents d’identité, les preuves de résidence,...), dont le Luxembourg, les Pays-Bas, le Royaume-Uni et la Suisse.

      Pour les pays mentionnés ci-dessus, une copie couleur de bonne qualité de la preuve d’identité, de la preuve de résidence,... doit être certifiée par le notaire.

      Veuillez contacter le helpdesk registre pour la certification/légalisation des statuts de la société. Vu qu’il n’y a pas de règles uniformes pour ce type de document, cela peut varier d’un pays à l’autre !
    Liste non exhaustive des pays pour lesquels la certification est suffisante :

    • Allemagne
    • Danemark (sauf Groenland et Feroe)
    • Estonie
    • France
    • Irlande
    • Italie
    • Lettonie
    • Luxembourg*
    • Pays-Bas*
    • Royaume-Uni*
    • Suisse*

    * Voir également le paragraphe 2 ci-dessus

  • Si vous soumettez une copie d’un document émis par un pays ayant signé la "Convention de La Haye" (à l’exception des pays mentionnés dans la section certification), celui-ci devra être pourvu d’une apostille.

    L’apostille doit être apposée sur le document par l’autorité compétente du pays d’où provient le document d’origine. Sur le site web de la Convention de La Haye, vous pouvez retrouver l’autorité compétente pour chaque pays.

    Pour plus d’informations concernant l’apostille, vous pouvez consulter : https://diplomatie.belgium.be/fr/legalisation-de-documents

    Liste non exhaustive de pays pour lesquels l'Apostille est nécessaire :
    • Espagne
    • États-Unis d'Amérique
    • Finlande
    • Hongrie
    • Inde
    • Israël
    • Japon
    • Pologne
    • Portugal
    • Signapore
    • Ukraine
  • Si vous soumettez une copie d’un document émis par un pays qui n’a pas ratifié la "Convention de La Haye", cette copie devra alors être légalisée dans le pays d’origine; cette légalisation confirme l’origine de la pièce justificative. Il s’agit de la confirmation par une autorité officielle de l’authenticité de la signature, de la capacité du signataire et, le cas échéant, de l’identité du timbre ou du cachet sur le document.

    Ces documents doivent être légalisés en dernière instance par une ambassade ou un consulat belge à l’étranger.

    Ce document étranger légalisé par une ambassade ou un consulat belge à l’étranger au moyen d’un autocollant pourvu "d’un numéro de contrôle" composé d’une série continue d’au moins 16 chiffres est valable et directement utilisable en Belgique.

    Liste non exhaustive de pays pour lesquels la légalisation est nécessaire :
    • Arabie Saoudite
    • Egypte
    • Kenya
    • République popualire de Chine
Pour les extraits de casier judiciaire, nous exigeons le document original (aucune copie ne sera acceptée)!
Si vous souhaitez fournir un document comme pièce justificative qui n’est rédigé ni en français, ni en néerlandais, ni en allemand, ni en anglais, il faudra fournir une traduction par un traducteur assermenté dans une des 4 langues admises ci-dessus.

Liens

  • Convention de Bruxelles du 25 mai 1987 relative à la suppression de la légalisation d’actes dans les Etats membres des Communautés européennes.
  • http://www.hcch.net/index_fr.php?act=conventions.status&cid=41 - La liste des pays ayant ratifié la Convention de La Haye du 5 octobre 1961 supprimant l’exigence de légalisation des actes publics étrangers.
  • http://just.fgov.be/ - Service Public Fédéral Justice – 115, bd de Waterloo, 1000 Bruxelles – Tél: +32 2 542 65 32 – Email: legal@just.fgov.be.

D'autres information (à titre infoRmatif)

  • Veuillez consulter le site web du SPF Affaires étrangères afin d’obtenir de plus amples informations concernant la légalisation des documents : http://diplomatie.belgium.be/fr/Services/Legalisation_de_documents/faq/.

  • En Belgique, les documents à traduire doivent l'être par un traducteur juré. La signature du traducteur juré sera légalisée par le Président du Tribunal de Première instance dont il dépend.

    Ensuite, la signature du Président du Tribunal sera légalisée par le Service Légalisation du SPF Justice. La traduction et l'original du document seront ensuite présentés au SPF Affaires étrangères pour obtenir soit une apostille (cfr. Convention de La Haye) soit une légalisation.

 

[Retourner en haut]