Surrendering

By April 30 of a given year, the operators of fixed installations and the aircraft operators must surrender at least a number of allowances corresponding to their actual emissions (in tonne CO2-equivalent) during the previous year.

Initiate a surrendering transaction

In order to initiate a surrendering transaction in the registry, an authorised representative (AR) must lo onto the registry (please have a look at this page in case you encounter any problems when logging onto the registry). Afterwards, the AR goes to the relevant account of the installation or aircraft operator, via "Accounts" > "Accounts" > [View Details], in order to obtain the overview page with the details of the selected account. The tabs "Compliance" to consult the compliance status and "Holdings"Ž to enter (surrendering) transactions are the ones of interest for the surrendering; the AR must select the tab "Holdings"Ž.

If you have any allowances (EUAs or -in case of aircraft operators- aEUAs) on the selected account, you are able to chose to "Propose a transaction" and "Surrender of allowances" afterwards.

Any CERs or ERUs on your account can not be directly surrendered in the registry! You need to exchange those units first; also see further.

After selecting the surrendering transaction, you will see a summary of the current compliance status. This summary shows you amongst others the compliance figure (= the number of units that still needs to be surrendered) as well as the surrender requests that may be pending and which therefore where not included yet in the compliance figure.

Enter the [Quantity to surrender] —as much as the compliance figure— and select "Submit" afterwards’. Just like an ordinary transaction, you must confirm the surrendering transaction with your EU login-password and with a single SMS challenge.

A second person always needs to confirm a surrendering transaction!
  • If an Additonal Authorised Representative (AAR) has been designated on the account, he/she needs to approve the surrendering transaction.
  • If no AAR has been designated on the account, a second Authorised Representative (AR) needs to approve the surrendering transaction.

The (A)AR must confirm the surrendering transaction by approving the corresponding task via the Task list“ menu; the surrendering transaction will be started directly afterwards. The menu Transactions” enables you to follow-up on the status of the surrendering transaction.

If you surrender more allowances than required, the excess will be carried over for the compliance for the future years.

Compliance status

(Additional) authorised representatives can check the compliance status of the installations or aircraft operations they are representing by logging onto the registry and going to the relevant account afterwards via "Accounts" > "Accounts" > [View Details]. In the overview page with the details of the selected account, they must select the tab "Compliance" to consult the compliance status for that account.

The compliance table displayed on this page provides a summary of the verified emissions per year. Below the table, information can be found about the compliance status: the compliance figure and the dynamic compliance status (A, B, C or X) indicate whether you are already in compliance.

If the number of surrendered allowances matches the amount of verified emissions exactly, the compliance figure will be 0. As long as the compliance figure remains a negative number, fewer allowances have been surrendered than required for compliance!

Use of international credits

Since 2013, operators can no longer directly use international credits (CERs or ERUs) for surrendering ; they need to exchange them first. Upon exchange of credits, operators receive a same amount of allowances in return. These allowances are indistinguishable from other allowances. However, a limit remains on the amount of credits that can be exchanged.

Always take into account that certain international credits have become ineligible under the EU ETS and can hence no longer be used for exchange! (more information can be found here)

Sanctions

If the surrendering obligation is not fulfilled in time, operators face a huge fine of € 100 per allowance that was not surrendered!

Moreover, this fine does not lift the obligation to surrender the missing allowances.

[Back to the top of this page]

Restitution

Pour le 30 avril au plus tard, les opérateurs d'installation fixe ou d'aéronef doivent restituer un nombre de quotas au moins équivalent à leurs émissions réelles de l'année précédente (en équivalent tonnes CO2).

Introduire une transaction de restitution

Pour introduire une transaction de restitution dans le registre, le représentant autorisé (AR) doit se connecter au registre (veuillez lire cette page si vous rencontrez des difficultés pour vous connecter au registre). Ensuite, l'AR choisit le compte de l'opérateur ou de l'opérateur d'aéronef, via "Comptes'>"Comptes">[Voir détails], pour obtenir un aperçu des détails du compte choisi. L'AR peut consulter le statut de conformité via l'onglet "Conformité" et introduire la transaction de restitution via l'onglet "Dépôts"..

Si vous avez des quotas (EUAs ou pour les opérateurs d'aéronef, des aEUAs) sur le compte choisi, vous pourrez choisir "Proposer une transaction" et "Restituer des quotas".

Les crédits internationaux (CERs ou ERUs) ne peuvent plus être utilisés pour la restitution dans le registre! Vous devrez d'abord les échanger; plus d'explications.

Après la sélection de la transaction "Restituer des quotas", vous obtenez un aperçu actualisé du statut de conformité. Ce résumé vous montre, entre autres, le solde indicatif de l’état de conformité (= les unités restant à restituer) ainsi que les éventuelles demandes de restitution encore en attente et donc pas encore prise en compte dans le statut de conformité.

Introduisez le montant souhaité dans [Quantité à restituer] –équivalent au solde de l’état de conformité – et cliquez ensuite sur "Soumettre". Vous devez ensuite, comme pour toute transaction , confirmer la restitution au moyen de votre mot de passe EU login puis du SMS challenge.

La restitution doit toujours être confirmée par une deuxième personne !
  • Si un représentant autorisé additionnel (AAR) est désigné pour le compte, c’est lui qui devra confirmer la restitution.
  • • S’il n’y a pas de AAR désigné pour le compte, la restitution devra être confirmée par un autre représentant autorisé (AR).

Le (A)AR doit approuver la restitution en confirmant la tâche correspondante dans la liste de tâches; une fois approuvée, la restitution sera directement lancée. Vous pourrez suivre la transaction de restitution introduite via le point de menu Transactions.

Si vous restituez plus de quotas d’émission que nécessaire, l’excédent sera reporté pour la restitution des années futures.

Statut de conformité

Les représentants autorisés (additionnels) peuvent consulter le statut de conformité de l’installation ou de l’opérateur d’aéronef qu’ils représentent en se connectant au registre et en accédant au compte concerné via "Comptes" > "Comptes" > [affichez les données détaillées]. L’onglet "Conformité" permet de consulter le statut de conformité de ce compte.

Le tableau de conformité donne un aperçu des émissions vérifiées par année. Sur ce tableau, vous pouvez trouver l’information actualisée du statut de conformité. Le chiffre de conformité et le statut de conformité dynamique (A, B, C ou X) vous signalent si vous êtes déjà en ordre de restitution.

Si le nombre de quotas d’émission restitués correspond de manière précise à la quantité d’émissions vérifiées, le chiffre de conformité est égal à 0. Tant que le chiffre de conformité correspond à un chiffre négatif, le nombre de quotas d’émissions restitués est inférieur à celui exigé pour la restitution !

Utilisation des crédits internationaux

Depuis 2013, les crédits internationaux (CERs/ERUs) ne peuvent plus être directement utilisés pour la restitution dans le registre. Ils doivent d’abord être échangés contre des quotas généraux ou des quotas aviation (pour les opérateurs d’aéronef). Vous devez réaliser vous-même cette transaction dans le registre. Les quotas ainsi échangés deviennent indistinct des autres quotas et peuvent être utilisés pour la restitution. Cependant, une limite reste sur le montant des crédits qui peuvent être échangés

Veuillez prendre en considération que certains crédits internationaux sont devenus inéligibles pour l’EU ETS et ne peuvent donc plus être utilisés ou échangés! (Plus d'informations à ce sujet)

Sanctions

Si la restitution n’a pas lieu à temps, les opérateurs devront payer une amende de 100 euros par tonne d’émission non compensée !

De plus, le paiement de cette amende n’exonère pas de l’obligation de restituer encore les quotas d’émissions manquants..

[Retourner en haute]