The Belgian Greenhouse Gas Registry

An online application ...

A greenhouse gas registry is an online application that is used to manage greenhouse gas emissions, emission allowances and international credits and to enable trade of these allowances and credits between accounts in the registry or with accounts in another (linked) registry. It can be used with a standard web browser (such as Firefox, Edge, Internet Explorer or Chrome).

... operating within an emission trading scheme ...

The European Emission Trading Scheme (EU ETS) is a market instrument to reduce the European (industrial) greenhouse gas emissions in a cost efficient way to achieve the EU climate commitments. Emission allowances and international credits are traded within a European limit to emit greenhouse gases (cap-and-trade). The supply and demand of emission units sets a price to greenhouse gas emissions.

The first phase of the EU ETS (2005-2007) was a "pre-trading phase". In the second phase (2008-2012) several improvements were made to the trading scheme. In the current phase (2013-2020) the rules of the scheme have been harmonised European wide and auctioning has been introduced to issue emission allowances on the market (next to free allocations).

... with individual users and accounts.

Similar to for example an internet bank, users can log onto the registry to make transfers towards other accounts in the same registry or to another (linked) registry. Since 2012, all European national registries are using the same online system. The hardware and software of this central system - the Consolidated System of European Registries (CSEUR) - are managed by the European Commission. Each European Member State remains however responsible for the administrative management of its users and accounts.

The Climate Change Department of the Federal Public Service of Public Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment is responsible for the Belgian greenhouse gas registry. It hosts currently around 360 accounts for fixed installations (industry and energy sector) and aircraft operators, as well as 30 trading accounts.

On this website you can find more information about the creation of a user login (EU login/URID), the opening and managing of an account, the security of the registry application, the different types of emission allowances and international credits and much more...

More general information, as well as background information on climate change, international emissions trading, climate policy,... can be found on the Belgian federal climate website http://www.klimaat.be (Dutch version) ⁄ http://www.climat.be (French version).

Le registre BELGE de gaz À effet de serre

Une application en ligne ...

Un registre de gaz à effet de serre est une application en ligne utilisée pour gérer des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, des quotas d'émission et des crédits internationaux et pour permettre les échanges de ces quotas et crédits entre des comptes enregistrés dans le registre lui-même ou avec des comptes d’un autre registre (relié). Cette application peut être utilisée via un navigateur web standard (comme Firefox, Edge, Internet Explorer ou Chrome).

... fonctionne dans un système d'échange d'émissions ...

Le système européen d'échange d'émissions (SCEQE) est un instrument du marché visant à réduire de manière efficace les émissions (industrielles) européennes de gaz à effet de serre. Les quotas d'émission et les crédits internationaux sont échangés dans une limite européenne d'émissions de gaz à effet de serre (cap-and-trade). L'offre et la demande d'unités d'émission fixent un prix aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

La première phase du SCEQE (2005-2007) était une "phase de pré-échange". Dans la deuxième phase (2008-2012), plusieurs améliorations ont été apportées au système d'échange. Dans la phase actuelle (2013-2020), les règles du système ont été harmonisées au niveau européen et une vente aux enchères a été introduite afin de mettre sur le marché des quotas d'émission (à côté des allocations gratuites).

... avec des comptes et des utilisateurs.

De la même manière qu’avec par exemple un système bancaire internet, les utilisateurs peuvent se connecter au registre pour effectuer des transferts vers d'autres comptes du même registre ou vers un autre registre (relié). Chaque état membre européen est responsable de la gestion administrative de ses comptes et utilisateurs. Mais depuis 2012, tous les registres nationaux européens utilisent le même système en ligne. Le matériel et le logiciel de ce système central - le système consolidé de registres européens (CSEUR) - sont gérés par la Commission européenne.

La Section Changement Climatique du Service Public Fédéral de la Santé Publique, Sécurité de la Chaîne Alimentaire et Environnement est responsable du registre de gaz à effet de serre belge. Il détient actuellement environ 360 comptes d’installations fixes (industrie et secteur de l’énergie) et d’aéronefs, ainsi que 30 comptes de négociation.

Vous trouverez sur ce site des informations complémentaires en ce qui concerne la création d’un login utilisateur (EU login/URID), l’ouverture et la gestion d’un compte, la sécurité de l’application registre, les différents types de quotas d’émission et de crédits internationaux et plus encore ...

Des informations plus générales, ainsi que des informations de fond sur le changement climatique, l’échange international des émissions, la politique climatique, ... peuvent être trouvées sur le site web fédéral belge relatif aux changements climatiques : http://www.climat.be.