Legal framework

The national greenhouse gas registry has been established and is maintained conform provisions of international rules under the UNFCCC (CMP decisions), European regulations and national law.

International rules (UNFCCC)

The international rules laid down in the CMP decisions under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), regulate the international emission trading between the Parties of the Kyoto Protocol. These rules have been translated into technical specifications, the Data Exchange Standards or DES, which sets the basic rules and conditions on which the national registries have been developed and are maintained.

European legislation

The European legislation adds European wide rules to the (European) registries and forms the basis of the European Emissions Trading Scheme (EU ETS). Amongst others, it establishes compliance obligations for fixed installations and aircraft operators, it allows the registry administrator to request that users and accounts in the registry comply with reasonable provisions and conditions on security, it sets accounting rules under the EU ETS, it determines the responsabilities of the users, account holders as well as of the registry administrator,...

The basis legislation for the EU ETS are the ETS directive and the registry regulation:

  • The European emission trading directive, Directive 2003/87/EG of 13 October 2003, establishes the basis for a common system of tradeable emission rights between European member states conform detailed specifications.
  • The European registry regulation Commission Regulation (EU) No 389/2013 of 2 May 2013 establishing a Union Registry pursuant to Directive 2003/87/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council, Decisions No 280/2004/EC and No 406/2009/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council and repealing Commission Regulations (EU) No 920/2010 and No 1193/2011 is currently the legal basis for the European registry system.
  • Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/1122 of 12 March 2019 supplementing Directive 2003/87/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council as regards the functioning of the Union Registry.

Some other European legislation applies to the EU ETS:

  • Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2015/1844 of 13 July 2015 amending Regulation (EU) No 389/2013 as regards the technical implementation of the Kyoto Protocol after 2012 (a.o. true-up and carry-over).
  • Regulation (EU) 2018/1999 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 December 2018 on the Governance of the Energy Union and Climate Action, amending Regulations (EC) No 663/2009 and (EC) No 715/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council, Directives 94/22/EC, 98/70/EC, 2009/31/EC, 2009/73/EC, 2010/31/EU, 2012/27/EU and 2013/30/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council, Council Directives 2009/119/EC and (EU) 2015/652 and repealing Regulation (EU) No 525/2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council.
  • Commission Regulation (EU) No 550/2011 of June 7, 2011 on determining, pursuant to Directive 2003/87/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council, certain restrictions applicable to the use of international credits from projects involving industrial gases. This regulation forbidded the use of CERs from projects to reduce HFC-23 or N2O for the production of adipic acid for surrendering under the EU ETS.
  • Commission Regulation (EU) No 1031/2010 of 12 November 2010 on the timing, administration and other aspects of auctioning of greenhouse gas emission allowances pursuant to Directive 2003/87/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council establishing a scheme for greenhouse gas emission allowances trading within the Community (AUCTIONING).
  • Directive 2014/65/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 May 2014 on markets in financial instruments and amending Directive 2002/92/EC and Directive 2011/61/EU (Mifid II).
  • Agreement between the European Union and the Swiss Confederation on the linking of their greenhouse gas emissions trading systems (Linking Agreement).

Phase 3 (2013-2020)

Phase 4 (2021-2030)

  • Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/1124 of 13 March 2019 amending Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/1122 as regards the functioning of the Union Registry under Regulation (EU) 2018/842 of the European Parliament and of the Council.
  • Commission Delegated Regulation (EU) 2019/331 of 19 December 2018 determining transitional Union-wide rules for harmonized free allocation of emission allowances pursuant to Article 10a of Directive 2003/87/EC of the European Parliament and of Council.
  • Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/2067 of 19 December 2018 on the verification of data and on the accreditation of verifiers pursuant to Directive 2003/87/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council.
  • Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/2066 of 19 December 2018 on the monitoring and reporting of greenhouse gas emissions pursuant to Directive 2003/87/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council and amending Commission Regulation (EU) No
  • Regulation (EU) 2018/1999 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 11 December 2018 on the Governance of the Energy Union and Climate Action, amending Regulations (EC) No 663/2009 and (EC) No 715/2009 of the European Parliament and of the Council, Directives 94/22/EC, 98/70/EC, 2009/31/EC, 2009/73/EC, 2010/31/EU, 2012/27/EU and 2013/30/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council, Council Directives 2009/119/EC and (EU) 2015/652 and repealing Regulation (EU) No 525/2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council
  • Regulation (EU) 2018/842 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 30 May 2018 on binding annual greenhouse gas emission reductions by Member States from 2021 to 2030 contributing to climate action to meet commitments under the Paris Agreement and amending Regulation (EU) No 525/2013 (ESR).

Belgian legislation

Additional user provisions and conditions of use in the Belgian national registry are set down in national law, via a Royal Decree and its accessory conditions, that informs the users on the legal rules in force:

  • Royal Decree of 21 July 2017 on the management of the Belgian greenhouse gas registry and the conditions applicable to its users. (French-Dutch version only)
  • Accessory conditions concerning the administration and the closure of operator holding accounts and person holding accounts (last updated on 15/03/2021; French-Dutch version only)

Other applicable national legislation:

Users also need to take into account provisions and conditions set by the registry administrators of each counterparty in case of international transactions.

 

[Back to the top of this page]

Cadre lÉgal

Le registre de gaz à effet de serre a été établi et est maintenu conformément aux exigences des règles internationales sous le CCNUCC (les décisions CMP), des règlements européens et de la législation belge.

RÈgles internationales (CCNUCC)

Les règles internationales fixées par les décisions CMP sous la Convention-Cadre des Nations Unies sur les Changements Climatiques (CCNUCC), règlent le commerce international d'émissions entre les parties du protocole de Kyoto. Ces règles ont été traduites en spécifications techniques, les Data Exchange Standards ou DES. Le DES décrit les règles et conditions de base pour le développement et la maintenance des registres nationaux.

LÉgislation europÉenne

La législation européenne ajoute des règles à l'échelle européenne pour les registres (européens) et constitue la base du système européen d'échange d'émissions (SCEQE). Elle établit, parmi d'autres, des obligations de mise en conformité pour les installations fixes et les exploitants d'aéronefs, elle permet à l'administrateur de registre de demander que les utilisateurs et les comptes dans le registre soient conformes aux dispositions et conditions raisonnables concernant la sécurité, elle fixe des règles comptables dans le SCEQE, elle détermine les responsabilités des utilisateurs, des titulaires de comptes ainsi que de l'administrateur du registre, ...

Les textes de base pour l'EU-ETS sont la directive ETS et le règlement registre:

  • La directive européenne relative à l'échange de quotas d'émission de gaz à effet de serre, Directive 2003/87/EG du 13 octobre 2003, forme la base d'un système commun d'échange de quotas entre les pays européens et ce, suivant des spécifications détaillées.
  • Le règlement registre européen Règlement (UE) n° 389/2013 de la Commission du 2 mai 2013 établissant un registre de l’Union conformément à la directive 2003/87/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil et aux décisions n° 280/2004/CE et n° 406/2009/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil et abrogeant les règlements (UE) n° 920/2010 et (UE) n° 1193/2011 de la Commission représente la base légale du système de registre européen.
  • Le règlement délégué (UE) 2019/1122 de la Commission du 12 mars 2019 complète la directive 2003/87/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement du registre de l'Union.

Autre législation européenne s'appliquant au SCEQE:

  • Règlement délégué (UE) 2015/1844 de la Commission du 13 juillet 2015 modifiant le règlement (UE) no 389/2013 en ce qui concerne la mise en oeuvre technique du protocole de Kyoto après 2012 (e.a. true-up et report).
  • Règlement (UE) n° 525/2013 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 21 mai 2013 relatif à un mécanisme pour la surveillance et la déclaration des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et pour la déclaration, au niveau national et au niveau de l'Union, d'autres informations ayant trait au changement climatique et abrogeant la décision no 280/2004/CE.
  • Règlement (UE) n° 550/2011 de la Commission du 7 juin 2011 établissant, conformément à la directive 2003/87/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil, certaines restrictions applicables à l’utilisation de crédits internationaux résultant de projets relatifs aux gaz industriels. Ce reglèment interdisaient l'utilisation des URCE de projets visant à réduire le HFC-23 ou N2O pour la production d'acide adipique pour la conformité sous le SCEQE.
  • Règlement (UE) n° 1031/2010 de la Commission du 12 novembre 2010 relatif au calendrier, à la gestion et aux autres aspects de la mise aux enchères des quotas d’émission de gaz à effet de serre conformément à la directive 2003/87/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil établissant un système d’échange de quotas d’émission de gaz à effet de serre dans la Communauté (AUCTIONING).
  • Directive 2014/65/UE du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 15 mai 2014 concernant les marchés d’instruments financiers et modifiant la directive 2002/92/CE et la directive 2011/61/UE (Mifid II).
  • Accord entre l'Union européenne et la Confédération suisse sur le couplage de leurs systèmes d'échange de quotas d'émission de gaz à effet de serre (Accord de couplage / Linking Agreement).

Phase 3 (2013-2020)

  • Règlement (UE) n° 1123/2013 de la Commission du 8 novembre 2013 sur la détermination de droits d’utilisation de crédits internationaux conformément à la directive 2003/87/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil (RICE).
  • Règlement (UE) n° 601/2012 de la Commission du 21 juin 2012 relatif à la surveillance et à la déclaration des émissions de gaz à effet de serre au titre de la directive 2003/87/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil (Réglement monitoring et rapportage - MRR).
  • Règlement (UE) n° 600/2012 de la Commission du 21 juin 2012 concernant la vérification des déclarations d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre et des déclarations relatives aux tonnes-kilomètres et l’accréditation des vérificateurs conformément à la directive 2003/87/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil (Règlement accréditation et vérification - AVR).
  • Décision n° 406/2009/CE du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 23 avril 2009 relative à l’effort à fournir par les États membres pour réduire leurs émissions de gaz à effet de serre afin de respecter les engagements de la Communauté en matière de réduction de ces émissions jusqu’en 2021 (ESD).

Phase 4 (2021-2030)

  • Règlement délégué (UE) 2019/1124 de la Commission du 13 mars 2019 modifiant le règlement délégué (UE) 2019/1122 en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement du registre de l'Union au regard du règlement (UE) 2018/842 du Parlement européen et du Conseil.
  • Règlement délégué (UE) 2019/331 de la Commission du 19 décembre 2018 définissant des règles transitoires pour l'ensemble de l'Union concernant l'allocation harmonisée de quotas d'émission à titre gratuit conformément à l'article 10 bis de la directive 2003/87/ce du Parlement européen et du Conseil.
  • Règlement d'exécution (UE) 2018/2067 de la Commission du 19 décembre 2018 concernant la vérification des données et l'accréditation des vérificateurs conformément à la directive 2003/87/ce du Parlement européen et du Conseil.
  • Règlement d'exécution (UE) 2018/2066 de la Commission du 19 décembre 2018 relatif à la surveillance et à la déclaration des émissions de gaz à effet de serre au titre de la directive 2003/87/ce du Parlement européen et du Conseil et modifiant le règlement (UE) no 601/2012 de la Commission.
  • Règlement (UE) 2018/1999 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 11 décembre 2018 sur la gouvernance de l'union de l'énergie et de l'action pour le climat, modifiant les règlements (CE) n° 663/2009 et (CE) n° 715/2009 du Parlement européen et du Conseil, les directives 94/22/CE, 98/70/CE, 2009/31/CE, 2009/73/CE, 2010/31/UE, 2012/27/UE et 2013/30/UE du Parlement européen et du Conseil, les directives 2009/119/CE et (UE) 2015/652 du Conseil et abrogeant le règlement (UE) n° 525/2013 du Parlement européen et du Conseil.
  • Règlement (UE) 2018/842 du Parlement européen et du Conseil du 30 mai 2018 relatif aux réductions annuelles contraignantes des émissions de gaz à effet de serre par les Etats membres de 2021 à 2030 contribuant à l’action pour le climat afin de respecter les engagements pris dans le cadre de l’accord de Paris et modifiant le règlement (UE) n° 525/2013 (ESR).

LÉgislation belge

Les dispositions et conditions d'utilisation du registre national belge sont fixées par un arrêté royal qui définit les règles légales en vigueur pour l’utilisateur:

  • Arrêté royal du 21 juillet 2017 relatif à la gestion du registre de gaz à effet de serre de la Belgique et aux conditions applicables à ses utilisateurs.
  • Conditions accessoires concernant l'ouverture, la clôture et la gestion des comptes de dépôt d'exploitant et des comptes de dépôt de personne (dernière modifications le 15/03/2021)

Autre législation applicable :

Les utilisateurs doivent également vérifier les dispositions et conditions établies par l'administrateur registre de l'autre pays en cas de transactions internationales.

 

[Retourner en haut]