Allocation & auctioning

Harmonised allocation rules

The fourth phase of the EU-ETS starts on 1 January 2021 and covers emissions in the period 2021-2030. Similar to the third phase (2013-2020), the free allocations to the installations and aircraft operators within this period have been calculated based upon harmonised allocation rules:

  • Allocation is done in a harmonised way across Europe
  • Allocation is done based upon historical data on production and emissions
  • Less allowances are allocated for free, more allowances are auctioned
  • The amount of allowances allocated for free decreases towards the end of the period
  • Free allocations continue to focus on sectors at the highest risk of reallocating their production outside the EU (Carbon leakage measures).
  • A considerable number of free allowances is set aside for new and growing installations.
  • More flexible rules - in comparison to phase III - have been set to better align the level of free allocation with actual production levels.
  • The 54 benchmark values determining the level of free allocation to each installation will be updated twice in phase 4 to avoid windfall profits and reflect technological progress since 2008.

Free allocation

Each year in February most installations and aircraft operators participating in the EU-ETS receive a free allocation of allowances. This free allocation is based upon the National Allocation Table.

Phase IV (2021-2030)

The initial National Allocation Table for fixed installations in phase IV has not been published yet.

New entrants in the EU-ETS might be added to the allocation table later and changes to the table might be made (for example due to significant capacity increase).

Phase II (2008-2012) & III (2013-2020)

Aviation

Auctioning

During the third phase of the EU-ETS (2013-2020) approximately half of the general emission allowances (EUAs) have been sold through regular auctions, in accordance with Commission Regulation (EU) No. 1031/2010 (the "Auctioning Regulation"). In the fourth phase of the EU-ETS (2021-2030) 57 percent of the allowances will to auctioned.

The European Commission has designated the German auctioning platform EEX as common European auctioning platform for the European Member States. As most other Member States, Belgium takes part in this platform. Germany and Poland are not participating in the common European trading platform, but they are organising their auctionings themselves via their own instances of the EEX auctioning platform.

Any operator and aircraft operator participating in the EU-ETS can participate in the auctionings. Other entities (like for example investment firms or credit institutions and in principle even individuals) may participate as well. All entities applying for admission to bid need however to fulfill the requirements of the Auctioning Regulation as well as any additional requirement set by the auctioning platform (EEX) itself. In practice, about 40 entities participate in the auctions EU-wide.

The auctioning platform publishes an auctioning calender which gives an overview of the auctioning dates as well as of the number of allowances auctioned each date.

The following reports provide an overview of the Belgian auctioning revenues :

Participating in the auctions

Compliance operators may participate directly in the auctions. More information on the different accesses (at page 5) to the auctions and the documents to be provided (at page 7) can be found in the following document by EEX.

To establish for example a simple auction-only membership, the operator is required to complete and submit only a limited set of documentation. Bidding on the auctions can be done via the EEX helpdesk.

In practice, one would need to get in touch with one of the - currently 22 - clearing members to establish an NCM agreement, in addition to collecting the information for the other documents at their side.

Once admitted, operators are able to bid on the auctions via the platform, via phone, e-mail or fax. Costs to participate amount to € 3 - 3,88 / 1000 allowances, without other fixed costs charged by EEX. Costs from ECC would be € 1000 per year (unless for the first year) and some additional costs from the clearing bank, but this depends on the chosen clearing bank and their fees...

For additional support on your admission to the EEX platform, you may contact their Admission Team by phone +49 341 2156 261 or by email memberreadiness@ecc.de.

Another option for compliance operators to participate in the auctions is to rely directly on an intermediary and hence to choose one of the companies offering to bid on behalf.

Carbon leakage

Carbon leakage describes the situation that may occur if, for reasons of costs related to climate policies like the EU-ETS, operators transfer production to other countries (outside the EU). The risk of carbon leakage may be higher in certain energy-intensive industries.

Carbon leakage is an unwanted effect as, in case of a transfer of production, CO2 emissions might no longer be regulated. Moreover there is a negative effect on the European economy as well. Hence, based on the "carbon leakage status" of an installation, more or less allowances might be allocated for free.

More information on carbon leakage can be found at the website of the European Commission: http://ec.europa.eu/clima/policies/ets/cap/leakage/index_en.htm.

 

[Back to the top of this page]

Allocation & mise aux enchÈres

RÈgles d'allocation harmonisÉes

La quatrième phase de l'EU-ETS a commencé le premier janvier 202021 et couvre la période 2021-2030. Similaire à la troisième phase (2013-2020), les allocations gratuites aux installations et exploitants d'aéronefs pour cette période ont été calculées sur base des principes suivantes harmonisées :

  • L'allocation est faite de manière harmonisée au niveau européen ;
  • L'allocation se base dur les données historiques de production et des émissions ;
  • Il y a moins de quotas alloués de manière gratuite, et plus de quotas mis aux enchères ;
  • Le nombre de quotas alloués gratuitement diminue vers la fin de la période ;
  • Les allocations gratuites continuent à se concentrer sur les secteurs qui risquent le plus de réorienter leur production en dehors de l'EU (Des mesures contre les 'fuites de carbone' = carbon leakage measures).
  • Un nombre considérable de quotas gratuits est mis en réserve pour les installations nouvelles et en expansion.
  • Des règles plus souples - par rapport à la phase III - ont été fixées pour mieux aligner le niveau d'allocation gratuite sur les niveaux de production réels.
  • Les 54 valeurs de référence déterminant le niveau d'allocation gratuite pour chaque installation seront actualisées deux fois au cours de la phase 4 afin d'éviter les bénéfices exceptionnels et de refléter les progrès technologiques réalisés depuis 2008.

Allocation gratuite

Chaque année au cours du mois de février, la plupart des opérateurs ETS recoivent une allocation de quotas gratuits, basée sur le Tableau national d'Allocation.

Phase IV (2021-2030)

Le premier tableau national d'allocation des quotas pour les installations fixes de la phase IV n'a pas encore été publié.

Les nouveaux entrants dans l'EU-ETS pourraient être ajoutés au tableau d'allocation plus tard et des modifications pourraient être apportées au tableau (par exemple en raison d'une augmentation importante de la capacité).

Phase II (2008-2012) & III (2013-2020)

Aviation

Mise aux enchÈres

Au cours de la période d'engagement actuel (CP2, 2013-2020), à peu près la moitié des quotas (EUAs) ont été mis aux enchères conformément au Règlement européen (EU) No. 1031/2010 ("Réglement Mise aux enchères"). Lors de la quatrième phase de l'EU-ETS (2021-2030), 57 % des quotas seront mis aux enchères.

La Commission européenne a désigné le plate-forme de mise aux enchères allemande EEX pour la mise aux enchères commune des Etats Membres. La Belgique, comme la plupart des EM, utilise cette plate-forme. L'Allemagne et la Pologne ne participent pas à la plate-forme commune européenne, ils organisent leurs propres mises aux enchères via leur propre instances de la plate-forme EEX.

Tout exploitant peut participer à la mise aux enchères. D'autres entités (comme par exemple des firmes d'investissement ou institutions de crédit et en principe tout individu) peuvent participer également. Avant de demander l'accès et de faire offre, ils doivent cependant se soumettre aux conditions du Réglement Mise aux Enchères et aussi à celles de la plate-forme(EEX). En pratique, une quarantaine d'entités participent aux mises aux enchères européens.

Le plate-forme de mises aux enchères publie un calendrier listant les dates des mises aux enchères et indiquant le nombre de quotas soumis par jour.

Le raport suivant donne un apperçu des revenues belges des mises aux enchères :

Participer aux enchères

Les opérateurs de conformité peuvent participer directement aux enchères. Pour plus d'informations sur les différents accès (page 5) aux enchères et les documents à fournir (page 7), veuillez consulter le document suivant d'EEX.

Pour établir, par exemple, une simple adhésion aux enchères, l'opérateur est tenu de remplir et de soumettre uniquement un ensemble limité de documents. Les offres pour les enchères peuvent être faites par l'intermédiaire du service d'assistance d'EEX.

Dans la pratique, il faudrait prendre contact avec l'un des membres compensateurs - actuellement au nombre de 22 - pour établir un accord de MR, en plus de la collecte des informations pour les autres documents à leurs côtés.

Une fois admis, les opérateurs peuvent faire des offres sur les enchères via la plate-forme, par téléphone, par e-mail ou par fax. Les coûts de participation s'élèvent à 3 - 3,88 € / 1000 quotas, sans autres coûts fixes facturés par EEX. Les coûts de l'ECC seraient de 1000 € par an (sauf la première année) et certains coûts supplémentaires de la banque de compensation, mais cela dépend de la banque de compensation choisie et de ses frais...

Pour obtenir une aide supplémentaire concernant votre admission à la plate-forme EEX, vous pouvez contacter l'équipe d'admission par téléphone au +49 341 2156 261 ou par courriel à memberreadiness@ecc.de.

Une autre possibilité pour les opérateurs de conformité de participer aux enchères est de s'appuyer directement sur un intermédiaire et donc de choisir l'une des sociétés proposant d'enchérir au nom.

Fuites de carbone

En théorie les exploitants peuvent, suite aux coûts relatifs aux politiques climatiques comme l'EU-ETS, déplacer leur production vers des pays hors l'Europe. Si les émissions sont moins réguliers là-bas, ces mêmes installations pourraient émettre plus. Cet effet indésirable est nommé 'fuite de carbone' (Carbon Leakage). De plus, ceci se fait au détriment de l'économie européenne. Afin d'éviter ce risque, des quotas gratuits sont alloués aux secteurs soumis au risque de fuite de carbone.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur ce sujet au site web de la Commission européenne: http://ec.europa.eu/clima/policies/ets/cap/leakage/index_en.htm.

[Retourner en haute]

 

[Retourner en haut]