Verified emissions

Installations and aircraft operators have to monitor and report their annual emissions in accordance with two Commission Regulations, the Monitoring and Reporting Regulation (MRR) and the Accreditation and Verification Regulation (AVR). These regulations set common rules to ensure the quality of the annually reported emissions and the credibility of the data.

At the beginning of a given year (X), an operator or aircraft operator must prepare an emissions report for the previous calendar year (X-1) and must have it verified by a verifier at the beginning of the given year (X). These emission reports must then be sent to the Competent Authorities (CAs) in accordance with their procedures.

Please contact your respective Competent Authority (CA) in case of any question on the reporting and verification of emissions.
The list of accredited verifiers by the Belgian accreditation instance (BELAC) is published at https://economie.fgov.be/en/themes/quality-and-safety/accreditation-belac/accredited-bodies/validation-and-verification. One may also use a verifier who has been accredited by another Member State.

After collecting all emission reports, the Competent Authorities (CAs) will send them to the Registry Administrator (RA). By March 31 of the given year (X), the RA must then upload the emissions in the registry.

The RA will upload the emissions before the end of March for a first time and the CAs will confirm the correctness of these figures afterwards. After this validation by the CAs, the RA will mark the emissions validated in the registry ; this will be done by March 31.

Once the uploaded emissions have been validated in the registry, the (aircraft) operators need to surrender en equivalent number of allowances by the end of April of the given year (X) at the very latest.

Important: It might happen that the validated emissions are updated after the 31 of March. In these (rare) cases, the CA and the RA will contact the concerned (aircraft) operator.

Emissions vÉrifiÉes

Les opérateurs d'installations fixes et les opérateurs d'aéronef doivent vérifier et rapporter leurs émissions annuelles conformément aux deux règlements européens, à savoir le règlement relatif à la surveillance et à la déclaration des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (MMR) et le règlement concernant la vérification des déclarations (AVR). Ces règlements permettent d'établir des normes de base afin de garantir la qualité et la fiabilité des émissions reportées annuellement.

Au début de l'année, un opérateur ou un opérateur d'aéronef doit préparer un rapport des émissions de l'année précédente (X-1) et celui-ci doit ensuite être vérifié par un vérificateur. Ces rapports d'émissions doivent par après être transmis aux autorités compétentes conformément aux procédures prévues.

Veuillez prendre contact avec votre autorité comptétente (CA) pour toute question relative au rapportage ou à la vérification des émissions.
La liste des vérificateurs accrédités par l'instance Belge d'accréditation (BELAC) est publié à l'addresse suivante https://economie.fgov.be/fr/themes/qualite-securite/accreditation-belac/organismes-accredites/organismes-de-validation-et. Toutefois, un exploitant / opérateur aéronef est libre de désigner un vérificateur qui a été accrédité dans un autre État Membre.

Après avoir rassemblé tous les rapports d'émission, les autorités compétentes (CA) les transmettent ensuite à l'administrateur du regsitre (RA). Pour le 31 mars de chaque année au plus tard, les émissions sont introduites dans le registre par le RA.

L'administrateur du regsitre introduit les émissions dans le registre avant la fin du mois de mars. Les autorités compétentes veillent ensuite à vérifier l'exactitude des chiffres. Après cette validation par les autorités compétentes, le RA indique ces émissions comme validées dans le registre et cela doit être fait pour le 31 mars au plus tard.

Une fois que les émissions introduites ont été validées dans le registre, les opérateurs (d'aéronef) doivent restituer un nombre de quotas équivalent au plus tard pour la fin avril de l'année X.

Important: il peut arriver que les émissions validées soient mises à jour après le 31 mars. Dans ce cas (exceptionnel), le CA et le RA contacteront directement l'opérateur (d'aéronef) concerné.