Structure of the emission trading schemes and the registry systems

Since the summer of 2012, the decentralised registry architecture of the European emissions trading was fundamentally changed. Until then, the registry tasks had been performed by the EU Member States in nationally developed and maintained registry systems. An EU-wide standardisation and centralisation of the registry systems had been carried out in the summer of 2012 with the introduction of the Consolidated System of European Registries (CSEUR). The management of the user accounts still remained however with the Member States.

From the viewpoint of the International Transaction Log (ITL) of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) the CSEUR consists of the Kyoto registries of the EU Member States and the one of the European Union (the Union Registry - UR).

Structure of the emission trading schemes and the registry systems

 

  • The Consolidated System of European Registries, in short CSEUR, groups all national registries of the EU Member States as well as the national registries of Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland in a single central software system.

    The legal framework of the CSEUR is the registry regulation. This regulation comprehends the specifications of the technical design of the CSEUR-software, as well as the rules on reporting, accounts, transactions, security,...

    The technical management (software and hosting) of the CSEUR is being done by the European Commission; the user and account management in the national parts of the CSEUR is done by the respective Member States. It are hence the Member States themselves who are opening the accounts, verifying the requested documentation and who are in direct contact with the end users.

    In Belgium the FPS Public Health, Food Chain Safety and Environment has been designated registry administrator of the Belgian national registry.

  • Each national register has its own access point to the CSEUR.

    Although hardly visible to the end users, each national registry consists of two parts: one part under the European Emission Trading Scheme (EU ETS) and one part under the Kyoto Protocol (KP). This distinction can only be seen by the end users via the account numbers. Accounts starting with EU-... (ex. EU-100-12345-0-67) are located in the EU part of the CSEUR, while accounts starting with BE-... (ex. BE-100-1-0-11) are located in the Belgian KP part of the CSEUR.

    The EU part of the registry ensures that all installations and aircraft operators within the EU ETS effectively fulfill their obligations under the EU ETS through the yearly compliance cycle.

    The KP part of the registry ensures that the Parties of the Kyoto Protocol are achieving their emission reduction objectives. This part of the registry holds amongst others the national accounts (BE-100-...) under the Kyoto Protocol and the person holding accounts (BE-121-...) that existed already before the centralization towards the CSEUR. These accounts cannot hold any European allowances (general nor aviation allowances)!

    International (Kyoto) credits, such as CERs or ERUs, may be held on accounts in the EU part as well as on accounts in the Kyoto part of the CSEUR.

  • All processes and transactions under the European Emissions Trading Scheme (EU ETS) are performed in the EU part of the CSEUR, the Union Registry, in short UR. The UR contains amongst others the operator holding accounts, aircraft operator holding accounts, trading accounts and person holding accounts within the EU ETS. The account identifier of these different account types always starts with EU-100...

    European emission allowances (general allowances or aviation allowances) can only be held on accounts in the UR.

  • Compliance with the rules of the European Emissions Trading Scheme (EU ETS) is checked by the European Transaction Log (EUTL). The EUTL is responsible for the supervision of all EU ETS-related transactions and processes. EU ETS-specific processes, such as transactions with European allowances, are only checked by the EUTL. In case of transactions with international credits, the first check is done by the ITL (see further). An additional check is than performed afterwards by the EUTL once the ITL forwarded the transaction.

    A lot of publicly available information, such as the allocation to and the compliance by operators and aircraft operators, as well as their international credit entitlement, an overview of historic transactions (at least 3 years old),... is published on the public website of the EUTL (http://ec.europa.eu/environment/ets/welcome.do).

  • The CSEUR is part of an international Emissions Trading Scheme (ETS). It is connected with other KP registries via the International Transaction Log (ITL). The ITL is operated by the UNFCCC based on the Data Exchange Standards (DES) for Registry Systems under the Kyoto Protocol. Any transaction of international credit is checked by the ITL to ensure its compliance with the DES. In case of transactions from or towards a European registry, the ITL will forward the transaction request as well to the EUTL. The EUTL will than on its turn check whether the transaction is in line with the rules under the EU ETS.

  • The CDM-registry is also part of the international emission trading scheme. This registry is run by the UNFCCC (as is the ITL). It is used to issue certified emission reduction credits, in short CER, from Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) projects.

    Apart from a few exceptions, transactions from the CDM registry can only be made towards accounts in other national KP registries (not the other way around).

ETS & structure registre

Depuis l'été 2012, l'architecture du registre d'échange de quotas d'émission européen a fondamentalement changé. Jusqu'alors, les tâches du registre étaient gérées par les États membres de l'Union européenne dans des systèmes registre développés et gérés au niveau national. Durant l'été 2012, une standardisation et centralisation des systèmes registre ont été effectuées à l'échelle européenne, avec l'introduction du système consolidé des registres européens (CSEUR). La gestion des comptes utilisateurs reste cependant à charge des États membres.

Du point de vue du journal des transactions internationales (ITL) de la Convention-cadre des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques (CCNUCC), le CSEUR est constitué des registres Kyoto des États membres de l'Union européenne et de celui de l'Union européenne (le registre de l'Union - UR ).

ETS & structure registre

 

  • Le système consolidé des registres européens, CSEUR en abrégé, regroupe tous les registres nationaux des États membres de l'Union européenne, de même que les registres nationaux de la Norvège, du Liechtenstein et de l'Islande, dans un système logiciel centralisé.

    Le cadre légal du CSEUR est la législation registre. Cette législation comprend les spécifications liées à la conception technique du logiciel CSEUR, de même que les règles de rapportage, les règles relatives aux comptes, aux transactions, à la sécurité,...

    La gestion technique (logiciel et hébergement) du CSEUR est réalisée par la Commission européenne; la gestion des utilisateurs et comptes se trouvant dans les parties nationales du CSEUR est effectuée par les États membres. Ce sont donc les États membres eux-mêmes qui procèdent à l'ouverture des comptes ainsi qu'à la vérification de la documentation requise et qui sont en contact direct avec les utilisateurs finaux.

    En Belgique, le SPF Santé publique, Sécurité de la chaîne alimentaire et Environnement a été désigné administrateur du registre national belge.

  • Chaque registre national a son propre point d'accès au CSEUR.

    Bien que à peine visible pour les utilisateurs finaux, chaque registre national est constitué de deux parties : une partie dans le cadre du système d'échange de quotas d'émission européen (EU ETS) et une partie dans le cadre du protocole de Kyoto (KP). Pour les utilisateurs finaux, cette distinction est uniquement visible via les numéros de compte. Les identifiants de compte commençant par EU-... (ex. EU-100-12345-0-67) sont localisés dans la partie EU du CSEUR, alors que les identifiants de compte commençant par BE-... (ex. BE-100-1-0-11) sont localisés dans la partie KP belge du CSEUR.

    La partie EU du registre assure que toutes les installations et aéronefs dans l' EU ETS remplissent effectivement leurs obligations relevant de l'EU ETS à travers le cycle de conformité annuel.

    La partie KP du registre assure que les Parties du protocole de Kyoto parviennent à leurs objectifs de réduction d'émission. Cette partie du registre détient entre autres les comptes nationaux (BE-100-...) sous le protocole de Kyoto et les comptes de dépôt de personne qui existaient déjà avant la centralisation vers le CSEUR (BE-121-...) . Ces comptes ne peuvent détenir aucun quota européen (ni quotas généraux , ni quotas aviation) !

    Les crédits internationaux (Kyoto) comme les CERs ou ERUs peuvent être détenus sur des comptes de la partie EU aussi bien que sur des comptes de la partie Kyoto du CSEUR.

  • Tous les processus et transactions dans le cadre de l'échange de quotas d'émission européen (EU ETS) sont effectués dans la partie EU du CSEUR ou registre de l'Union, en abrégé UR. L'UR contient entre autres les comptes de dépôt d'exploitant, les comptes de dépôt d'exploitant d'aéronef, les comptes de négociation et les comptes de dépôt de personne dans l'EU ETS. Le numéro de compte de ces différents types de compte commence toujours par EU-100...

    Les quotas d'émission européens (quotas généraux ou quotas aviation) peuvent uniquement être détenus dans l'UR.

     

  • La conformité avec les règles dans le cadre de l'échange de quotas d'émission européen (EU ETS) est contrôlée par le journal européen des transactions (European Transaction Log - EUTL). L' EUTL est responsable de la supervision de toutes les opérations et de tous les processus en lien avec l'EU ETS. Des processus spécifiques EU ETS comme des transactions avec des quotas européens ne sont contrôlés que par l'EUTL. En cas de transactions avec des crédits internationaux, le premier contrôle est réalisé par l' ITL (voir plus loin). Un contrôle additionnel sera effectué ensuite par l'EUTL, après transfert de la transaction par l'ITL.

    Un grand nombre d'informations comme les chiffres d'allocation, les données de conformité, les droits d'utilisation de crédits par les exploitants et exploitants d'aéronef, l'historique des transactions (anciennes d'au moins 3 ans),... sont publiées sur site public de l'EUTL (http://ec.europa.eu/environment/ets/welcome.do).

  • Le CSEUR fait partie du système d'échange de quotas d'émission (ETS). Il est connecté avec les autres registres KP via le journal International des transactions (International Transaction Log - ITL). L'ITL est exploité par l'UNFCCC et est basé sur des standards d'échange de données (DES) pour les systèmes de registres sous le protocole de Kyoto . Toute transaction avec des crédits internationaux est contrôlée par l'ITL afin d'assurer sa conformité avec le DES. En cas de transactions vers ou à partir d'un registre européen, l'ITL suivra la demande de transaction tout comme l'EUTL. L'EUTL contrôlera à son tour que la transaction soit bien en accord avec les règles relevant de l'EU ETS.

  • En dehors de quelques exceptions, les transactions à partir du registre CDM peuvent être effectuées uniquement vers des comptes d'autres registres KP nationaux (et vice-versa).