Unit types

Most common unit types

  • Allowances used in the EU ETS...

    EUA General allowance Allowances created pursuant to Directive 2003/87/EC (with the exception of Article 3c §2). These allowances can be used by operators and aircraft operators for their compliance obligations.
    aEUA Aviation allowance Allowances created pursuant to Article 3c §2 of Directive 2003/87/EC. These allowances can be used by aircraft operators for their compliance obligations.
  • KYOTO UNITS
    • International credits used in emissions trading under the Kyoto Protocol. These units can be used in the EU ETS with certain limitations.

      CER Certified Emission Reduction Unit Via CDM emission-reduction projects in countries that do not have obligations under the Kyoto Protocol certified emission reduction (CER) units can be earned. These units can be exchanged for general allowances by operators and aircraft operators up to a certain limit.
      Based upon the project identifier you can retrieve detailed information on the origin of the CERs via the CDM website of the UNFCCC (http://cdm.unfccc.int/Projects/projsearch.html). The project identifier or project number of a CER is displayed in the registry at the account balance page.
      Important: Some CERs can no longer be used under the EU ETS! (ineligible CERs)
      ERU Emission Reduction Unit A unit converted from an AAU or RMU based on a Joint Implementation (JI) project in countries that have obligations under the Kyoto protocol. These units can be exchanged for general allowances by operators and aircraft operators up to a certain limit.
      Important: Some ERUs can no longer be used under the EU ETS! (ineligible ERUs)
    • AAU Assigned Amount Unit Units allocated to Kyoto parties (ex. Belgium) for each commitment period.
      lCER Long-term Certified Emission Reduction Unit These units are issued for an afforestation or reforestation project activity under the clean development mechanism (CDM). They expire at the end of the emission reduction crediting period of the afforestation or reforestation project activity for which they were issued.
      tCER Temporary Certified Emission Reduction Unit These units are issued for an afforestation or reforestation project activity under the clean development mechanism (CDM). They expire at the end of the Kyoto Protocol commitment period following the one during which they were issued.
      RMU Removal Unit Units allocated to Kyoto parties for LULUCF activities. LULUCF stands for Land Use, Land Use Change and Forestry.

  • Each of the units above represent the equivalent of one ton CO2.

    Since July 2013 user accounts in the EU part of the Belgian registry can only hold units that can be used within the EU ETS (EUA, aEUA, eligible CER and eligible ERU); see below.

    Eligibility of international credits (CERs and ERUs)

    Since January 1, 2013, in accordance with EU Regulation No. 550/2011 of June 7, 2011, CERs from projects to reduce HFC-23 or N2O for the production of adipic acid are no longer accepted for surrendering under the EU ETS.

    In addition, following the entry into force of EU Registry Regulation No. 389/2013 of May 4, 2013, some ERUs are no longer allowed in the EU ETS from 2014. These are mainly ERUs as specified in Article 58 (2) of the Registry Regulation, namely track 1 ERUs from projects in third countries (non EU ETS), recorded after 2012 or for which the emissions reductions took place after 2012.

    From April 1, 2015 onwards CERs and ERUs issued in respect of emission reductions in the first commitment period CP1 (2008-2012) are no longer eligible for use under the EU ETS either.

    All international credits (CERs and ERUs) that can no longer be held in the EU ETS are marked "ineligible" in the registry. These credits can no longer be received on or traded with EU accounts, but only on Kyoto accounts beginning with a country code i.s.o. EU (for example BE-121-XXX-0).

    With any purchase of international credits (CERs and ERUs) with the aim to exchange them, you should require that only credits are provided which are authorized to be used within the EU ETS and that those units are delivered to your EU account.

    More information and frequently asked questions on the eligibility of international credits can be found on the website of the European Commission, DG Clima: http://ec.europa.eu/clima/policies/ets/linking/faq_en.htm.

Les types d’unités

Les unités les plus utilisées

  • Quotas d’émission dans l’EU ETS...

    EUA Quota général Quotas d’émission crées en vertu de la directive 2003/87/CE (à l’exception de l’article 3c §2). Ces quotas d’émission peuvent être utilisés par les opérateurs ou les opérateurs d’aéronef pour respecter leurs obligations de mise en conformité.
    aEUA Quota aviation Les quotas d’émission crées conformément à l’article 3c §2 de la directive 2003/87/CE. Ces quotas d’émission ne peuvent être utilisés que par les opérateurs d’aéronef pour respecter leurs obligations de mise en conformité.
  • UNITÉS DE KYOTO
    • Les crédits internationaux utilisés dans le commerce des unités d'émission sous le protocole de Kyoto. Ces unités peuvent être utilisées dans l’EU ETS, selon certaines limites.

      CER Unité de réduction certifiée
      > FR: URCE
      Les unités de réduction certifiée des émissions (CER) peuvent être obtenues via des projets CDM dans des pays qui n’ont pas d’obligations en vertu du protocole de Kyoto. Ces unités peuvent être échangées, selon certaines limites, par les opérateurs ou les opérateurs d’aéronef contre des quotas généraux.
      Sur base de l’identifiant du projet, vous pouvez retrouver des informations concernant l’origine des CERs sur le site CDM de l’UNFCC (http://cdm.unfccc.int/Projects/projsearch.html). Le numéro d’identification du projet ou du CER est affiché dans le registre, à la page solde de votre compte.
      Important : certains CERs ne peuvent plus être utilisés dans le cadre de l’EU ETS (les CERs inéligibles)!
      ERU Unité de réduction des émissions
      > FR: URE
      Une unité convertie à partir d’AAU ou RMU issu d’un projet JI dans un pays ayant des obligations en vertu du protocole de Kyoto. Ces unités peuvent être échangées, dans certaines limites, contre des quotas généraux par les opérateurs et les opérateurs d’aéronef.
      Important : certains ERUs ne peuvent plus être utilisés dans le cadre de l’EU ETS (les ERUs inéligibles)!
    • AAU Unité de quantité attribuée
      > FR: UQA
      Les unités allouées aux parties au protocole de Kyoto (ex. la Belgique) pour chaque période d’engagement.
      lCER Unité de réduction certifiée des émissions durables
      > FR: URCED
      Ces unités sont délivrées pour une activité de projet de boisement ou de reboisement au titre du mécanisme de développement propre (CDM, FR: MDP). Elles expirent à la fin de la période de comptabilisation des réductions d’émissions de l'activité de projet de boisement ou de reboisement au titre du MDP pour laquelle elles ont été délivrées.
      tCER Unité de réduction certifiée des émissions temporaires
      > FR: URCET
      Ces unités sont délivrées pour une activité de projet de boisement ou de reboisement au titre du mécanisme de développement propre (CDM, FR: MDP). Elles expirent à la fin de la période d’engagement au titre du protocole de Kyoto suivant celle durant laquelle elles ont été délivrées.
      RMU Unité d’absorption
      > FR: UAB
      Les unités allouées aux parties du protocole de Kyoto pour les activités LULUCF. LULUCF est l’abréviation de Land Use, Land Use Change and Forestry.

  • Chaque type d’unités représente l’équivalent d’une tonne de CO2.

    Depuis le mois de juillet 2013, les comptes d’utilisateur dans la partie EU du registre belge ne peuvent détenir que des unités pouvant être utilisées dans l’EU ETS (EUA, aEUA, CER éligible et ERU éligible); voir plus loin.

    Les crédits internationaux éligibles (CERs et ERUs)

    Depuis le 1er janvier 2013, conformément au Règlement UE n° 550/2011 du 7 juin 2011, les unités de réduction certifiées (CERs) issus de projets impliquant la réduction de HFC-23 et de N2O pour la production d’acide adipique ne sont plus acceptées pour la restitution dans le cadre de l’EU ETS.

    De plus, suite à l’entrée en vigueur du Règlement Registre UE n°389/2013 du 4 mai 2013, certaines unités de réduction des émissions (ERUs) ne sont plus admises à partir de 2014 dans l’EU ETS. Il s’agit principalement des ERUs stipulées à l’article 58 (2) de ce règlement, à savoir les ERUs Track 1 provenant de projets de pays tiers (non EU ETS), enregistrées après 2012.

    Depuis le 1er avril 2015, les CERs et ERUs délivrés pour des réductions d’émission dans la première période d’engagement CP1 (2008-2012) ne peuvent plus être utilisés dans le cadre de l’EU ETS.

    Tous les crédits internationaux (CERs/ERUs) qui ne peuvent plus être détenus dans l’EU ETS ont reçu le statut “ineligible” dans le registre. Ces crédits ne peuvent plus être conservés ni échangés sur des comptes EU, mais uniquement sur des comptes nationaux (comptes commençant avec un code pays, par exemple BE-121-XXX-0).

    Lors d’un éventuel achat de crédits internationaux réalisé dans l’optique d’un échange, vous devriez vous assurer que seuls des crédits autorisés dans le système EU ETS vous sont délivrés et qu’ils le sont effectivement sur votre compte EU.

    Plus d’informations concernant l’éligibilités des crédits internationaux peuvent être trouvées sur le site de la Commission européenne, DG Climat : http://ec.europa.eu/clima/policies/ets/linking/faq_en.htm (seulement disponible en anglais).